Twelve Spices – Canley Heights

Untitled-6

Back again with some more Laos and Thai food – can’t get enough!
This time we hit up Twelve Spices, at Canley Heights, strangely this restaurant was not situated on the main street. Holy Basil has that turf claimed. Instead on a street parallel, on a small business strip with nothing open except itself. At first I was worried I had led my family astray, but the brightly lit and bustling restaurant quickly changed my mind. I would suggest you make a booking, but even the people who did ended up having to wait for their tables to be cleared – so I guess the booking system isn’t too clear cut.

Untitled-4Ox Tongue $9.90 | Satay Chicken $8.80

I still remember trying ox tongue for the first time. I was in primary school and my aunty has just opened her Laos restaurant and hosted an opening night event. I was so repulsed by the idea of ox tongue, but my dad insisted that I try it. I did, and I have never looked back. Both the ox tongue and satay chicken skewers were decent! The satay chicken came with two dipping sauces – I actually found myself liking the sweet chili one more than the peanut (that’s a first)!

Untitled-5Papaya Salad with Soft-shell Crab $16.90 | Pad Thai $11.90

You can probably tell by now, that we’re on a mission to find the best soft-shell crab in Sydney. There’s nothing to hate about soft-shell crab. If soft-shell crab was a human being I’d let it walk all over me. It can do no wrong. We went mainstream with our noodles and had some Pad Thai – yeah! Look at all them crushed peanuts! Everything was fresh and straight-up OG. Pictured above is the Massaman Curry $14.90, not entirely why I chose it, the name just sounded interesting – but I was told that it isn’t spicy at all. So it was just tasty, as I recall.

Untitled-3
Green Tea Fried Ice-cream $11.90 | Coconut Sticky Rice with Pandan Sauce and Vanilla Ice-cream $10.90

Good news is: they have fried ice-cream with sick flavours. Green-tea, taro or durian anyone? Bad news is: I didn’t like their batter. For me it was quite dense, and tasted more doughy than cripsy. Maybe it was just an undercooked batch, who knows. The sticky rice on the other hand, was so good they’ll be folk songs about it. I don’t usually even like sticky rice (Edwina does), and we both agreed it was awesome. Great way to end the night!

Hope to visit again soon and try out some of their cool-looking drinks – we took a peek at the drinks menu, and it was pretty extensive!

Twelve Spices
197 St Johns Rd
Canley Heights, NSW
Phone: (02) 9609 6212
E-mail: twelvespices@hotmail.com
Mon: 11:00 – 15:00, 17:00 – 22:00
Wed – Fri: 11:00 – 15:00, 17:00 – 22:00
Sat – Sun: 11:00 – 22:00
Leave a Reply

