4143 Bar and Restaurant – Alexandria

header

I found this place off a list of “Top 10 Family-friendly Restaurants for Groups” or something rather for my birthday the beginning of this year. I brought a large group of friends to this dinner despite having never been here before. The food turned out to be awesome and the prices were definitely wallet-friendly – we got pretty excited at the idea of being able to order half a lobster mornay for $20. Anyways, come 5 months later and I decide to return to this place for lunch with my family and I realise that it’s actually right next door to the holy site of where food and Instagram consummated and had a baby – The Grounds of Alexandria. Yes, I’m talking to everyone who clogs my feed up with colourful and delicious obscenities.  The funny thing was, I actually had a brunch date with my friends at the Grounds the next day, so not only was I about to be one of those people, I was about to visit the Grounds two days in a row. Excessive.

flowers

4143 has a beautiful outdoor space with a bar, with an assortment of wide-open tables or those made with barrels. Inside looks like a warehouse but with windows from wall to wall. The floral arrangements are very unique and are stocked from the florist outside. You order and pay at the bar before returning to your table to await your food.

beveragesCappuccino $3.50 | Orange Juice $3.90 | Ruby Red Grapefruit Juice $3.90

I must admit that I was disappointed that the juices were not freshly squeezed, but from bottles – especially considering the price. Nonetheless it was a refreshing accompaniment to my meal.

Untitled-1Beef and Mushroom Pie $18 | Fish of the Day: Pan-fried Salmon $18

The Pie of the Day was the Beef and Mushroom Pie, it contained chunky pieces of beef which apparently there was ‘too much of’ (though I wouldn’t consider that a complaint), with a side of salad and ‘double-cooked’ chips. The salmon was soft and moist with a crispy skin. It sat on a bed of blanched long beans with a really nice sauce, super easy to polish off.

Untitled-2
Mushroom Burger $14

To borrow the words from How I Met Your Mother, “I love this burger so much I want to sew my ass shut”. Goats cheese, grilled wild mushroom, basil leaves and garlic aioli is bangin. I don’t know what is with me and mushroom burgers lately, but I’m on a quest to find more of them. I actually love this combination so much that it prompted me to buy mushrooms and burger buns at 10pm at night. Did I mention that the chips here are double-cooked?

pizza
Margarita Pizza $13

Pretty much your standard tomato sauce and mozzarella pizza. I ordered this because when I asked the waitress whether or not what I had ordered so far would be enough she shook her head no. I think though, that we could have done without it, because we were pretty content before it got here. It’s funny because as we were walking in, we were commenting on how so many people have left over pizza on their plates, and we were about to leave 3/4 untouched. Even though we only ordered 3 mains between 4 people, it turned out to be plenty because the serving sizes are quite generous. So heads up!

IMG_3999

After lunch we headed next door to Salt Meats Cheese, aside from the obvious, this grocer stocks all sorts of imported and locally made foods. Described as the ‘urban grocer’ this warehouse space is an wonderland for foodies. Fresh pasta and spaghetti made from beetroot, carrot or infused with squid ink or red wine? Too many types of legumes, carbohydrate-substitutes, chocolates, salts, nougats and snacks to count. If it’s all too overwhelming for you, they have a cheese bar where an assistant will help you as you sample cheeses. Can I get a hell yeah?

smc

Here is Edwina with a Vintage Cheddar $5.70 and a Brescola $5.90 for my uncle. Unfortunately, we didn’t buy anything for ourselves. We heard that the place is famous for it’s truffle cheese though, and it was a coincidence that they had a sample of it at the Grounds Markets the next day because I got to try it and it’s hype is well deserved! But more about that next time.
Happy wanderings!
4143 Bar and Restaurant
41/43 Bourke Rd, Alexandria NSW 2015
Phone: (02) 9690 8400
Hours:
Sunday 11:30 am – 4:30 pm
Monday 11:30 am – 4:30 pm
Tuesday 11:30 am – 4:30 pm
Wednesday 11:30 am – 11:30 pm
Thursday 11:30 am – 11:30 pm
Friday 11:30 am – 11:30 pm
Saturday 11:30 am – 11:30 pm
Note: Kitchen closes earlier
Salt Meats Cheese
Address: 41 Bourke Rd, Alexandria NSW 2015
Phone:(02) 9690 2406
Hours: 9am -6pm daily
Leave a Reply

